Western City District

The newly formed Western City District is the result of merging the former South West and West Districts and comprises eight local council areas from north of the Hawkesbury River to Bargo in the south west and west into the Blue Mountains.

The new district will better facilitate planning around the Western Sydney Airport, the site and surrounds of which had previously been bisected by the two former districts.

Read our news item announcing the new Western City District.

Draft District Plans

Until the new Western City District Plan is placed on exhibition, the draft West District Plan continues to apply to local government areas of Blue Mountains, Penrith and Hawkesbury. The draft South West District Plan will continue to apply to the local government areas of Campbelltown, Camden, Fairfield, Liverpool and Wollondilly.

Three Sisters look out in Katoomba

Interim District Commissioner: Geoff Roberts

Headshot of Environment Commissioner, Geoff Roberts

Geoff Roberts has been appointed to act as Interim District Commissioner. During this time a formal recruitment process will be undertaken for a permanent District Commissioner, consistent with the independent and transparent process that was used for the original appointments.

Geoff Roberts has 35 years of experience in Australia and internationally on city strategy, governance and leadership and currently holds an Adjunct Professor position in the City Futures Research Centre at the University of New South Wales.

Read more >

Facts and Figures

Infographic 354,800 people live in the district
Infographic 133,100 jobs in 2016
Infographic 71 per cent of land is open space